Time To Sparkle This Festive Season

“Christmas and New Year is too sparkly.”

-said no one ever!

I was recently invited to attend a talk and series of demonstrations at the John Lewis Style Studio in town.  They pulled a selection of garments from across the brands they stock, showing us some of their favourite All The Glitter picks for this festive period.  It is safe to say, I was in sequin Heaven!

Now, they say less is more, and I am usually a firm believer in this.  However, when it comes to sequins, I am a magpie!  We have a number of social events and family gatherings between now and just after New Year, which means I get to dress up.  As much as I love my comfortable mom jeans, sweats and yoga pants, I love any excuse to put on a frock and heels.

Much to my joy, sequins are big this season; gracing the covers of major fashion magazines and spotted on runways around the world, including designers such as Roberto Cavalli, Giambattista Valli and Givenchy to name a few.  I attended a formal event last weekend; now Halloween has passed, it is officially the festive period, so I pulled out my pair of sequin trousers from Pretty Little Thing for the occasion. These trousers are a walking disco ball, so I paired them down with a one shoulder black bodysuit from In the Style and black cape blazer from Pretty Little Thing.  Because the weather was cold and we would potentially be spending some time outside, I wore a pair of plain black closed toe heels; but these could also pair with some strappy heels or boots.

201911147694252868291588040.jpg201911141888839173496325189.jpg

If you are attending any social events or parties over the coming weeks and you are looking to make a statement, here are some of my favourite All The Glitter picks;

Sequin Midi Skirt from French Connection

Emilia Sequin Jersey Midi Skirt French ConnectionThis Emilia Sequin Midi Skirt is currently on sale at just over 40% off. This is an ideal day to night skirt; during the day it could be paired with a cosy knit and a comfortable pair of trainers, transitioning to a cami and heels for a classic night look.  If you prefer an edgy rock chick look, this is also great with a pair of black boots, leather jacket and plain black bodysuit.

ASOS Edition Sequin Trousers and Matching Jacket

ASOS Edition Co Ord Sequin SuitIf you are a more is more type of person, this is a great statement look.  Need I say any more!?

Ted Baker Gabria One Shoulder Draped Midi Dress

Gabria Ted Baker DressI saw this dress whilst I was in the John Lewis Style Studio, and I instantly fell in love with it.  It is a glamorous goddess style dress, sure to catch everyone’s eyes for all of the right reasons.  Although a little more on the pricey side, it is a classic cut and style that will never go out of fashion.  If you’re going for an elegant chic look, this pairs beautifully with a faux fur coat; or for an edgier look, it pairs nicely with a leather jacket.

H&M V Neck Sequin Jumpsuit

I am a huge lover of jumpsuits; I am rarely without my children, so comfortable and practical clothing is a must.  This is a great option if you know you’re likely to be on the move constantly; whether it is chasing children, endless hours of dancing, or mingling with other guests.  We are also now entering winter (although it feels like it has been here for some time already!) so the weather is starting to feel pretty cold; this is a great option if you know you’re likely to spend some time outside.  This would again pair nicely with a faux fur coat or leather jacket.

Ted Baker Tie Waist Culottes and Silk Fred Cowl Neck Sequin Cami

If you prefer a more toned down look, this is a nice compromise.  These Ted Baker culottes were also featured in the John Lewis Style Studio; the colour and sheen instantly caught my eye.  These would pair nicely with a pale sequin top; but my favourite thing about these culouttes is how versatile they are.  Once the party season is over, these pair beautifully with a cosy knit, white shirt or smart white top; being worn casually, for work or dressed up.

ASOS Edition Sequin and Fringe Open Back Dress

ASOS Edition Tassel Sequin DressThis is the show stopper! It has it all; sequins, fringe, drama, what more could you possibly need? If you are planning on wearing a dress with all the drama; let the dress do all the work for you. Simple strappy heels, a classic elegant make up look and hair tied up or pinned back is all it needs.

If you’ve got several events coming up, and you’re still not sure what to wear; remember, when in doubt, just add sparkles!

Elisabeth

Don’t forget to follow my social media accounts;

Instagram @littlecupofmum

Facebook @littlecupofmum

Pinterest @littlecupofmum

Twitter @littlecupofmum

2 comments

  1. Wow – that is some serious sparkle! I’ll have to trawl my wardrobes and see what I can recycle for this season. I do love a sequin…xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment